What we read in October

We discussed 8 books at our last meeting, and apart from one they are all 4-Stars or more The Visitor by Lee ChildClover was surprised and delighted to realise she’d never read this Jack Reacher story and it felt as if she was discovering the books all over again....

Ski Spy School by Stuart Gibbs

A 5-Star spy adventure for children aged 8-11 years. Ski Spy School, by Stuart Gibbs, is the fourth book in the Spy School series. In it, a CIA agent in training, named Ben Ripley, is sent on a dangerous mission to get close to an evil man’s daughter by...

Killer Charm by Linda Fairstein

A short essay on the subject of psychopaths, which makes fascinating reading. At one of our book group meetings we talked about the American author, Linda Fairstein. Someone had read the latest novel in her series about the New York Assistant District Attorney,...

Rogue Male by Geoffrey Household

A riveting and exciting thriller that’s of its time, yet timeless. Facing a long train journey, I opted to buy a paperback of this classic British thriller. In my mind I had it pegged as a chase story in the vein of Eric Ambler, John Buchan etc. But intriguingly, it...

Whirligig by Andrew James Greig

Good, old fashioned storytelling and a very satisfying read. If you enjoy reading intricate and interesting mysteries then try Whirligig by Andrew James Greig which is available on the BorrowBox e-library. Both of us thoroughly enjoyed this book and gave it 5-Stars....