Book Reviews

Most of our book reviews are written by members of our Oundle Crime book group, and if you enjoy reading crime fiction and thrillers and want to know more about Oundle Crime, click here.

But we don’t only review crime fiction. We’re happy to include reviews of any literary genre on our website, so if you’d like to write something for us about a book you’ve enjoyed, please send your review to join@friendsofoundlelibrary.org.uk

Take a look below to see our latest reviews, and click through to a book review to find our Archive. We should also add that, if you buy books linked to our website, we may earn commission from Bookshop.org, whose fees support independent bookshops.

May 2022

Watch this space…

… we’ll be posting another book review here soon.

16 May 2022

We Begin at the End by Chris Whitaker

No wonder this won last year’s CWA Gold Dagger Award. It’s a story that’s multi-layered, absorbing and utterly believable. It can’t be rated at anything less than 5-Stars.

9 May 2022

Money in the Morgue by Ngaio Marsh & Stella Duffy

Stella Duffy has done a great job completing a ‘lost’ story in the Roderick Alleyn series. The plot and characters feel entirely true to the originals and nothing jars. This is a ‘must read’ for fans of Classic Crime.

1 May 2022

Oundle Crime recommends

Oundle Crime drew the letter ‘U’ out of the hat last month, so their blog includes several authors and book titles starting with that letter as well as a smattering of others besides.

27 April 2022

Deadlock by Quintin Jardine

Book 31 in Jardine’s popular Bob Skinner series. It’s an interesting mystery set during the Covid-19 pandemic involving unexplained deaths and a gruesome murder. A very satisfying read.

20April 2022

One Way Street by Trevor Wood

A wonderful follow-up to Trevor Wood’s debut novel The Man on the Street. Gritty, well-paced and realistic. It’s unputdownable! 5-Stars.

11 April 2022

American Dirt by Jeanine Cummins

The haunting story of a mother and her young son fleeing a Mexican drug cartel and travelling to North America. This is an absolute must-read. 5-Stars.

2 April 2022

Oundle Crime recommends

The reading theme was to try an author they’d never read before, and Oundle Crime have obliged by recommending 9 novels including murder mysteries, espionage and psychological thrillers…

29 March 2022

Ascension by Oliver Harris

At the start, this novel looks and feels like a traditional spy story, but it soon morphs into something more akin to a thriller. It’s a really absorbing and well-crafted novel, and our reviewer gives it 5-Stars.

20 March 2022

Fools and Mortals by Bernard Cornwell

A swashbuckling historical adventure that’s built around a good mystery and is so well written that Elizabethan London positively springs off the page.

ADDRESS

Friends of Oundle Library

Glapthorn Road

Oundle

PE8 4JA

Become a Friend

Become a Friend

Join us to receive the latest news and updates.

Your message has been sent.

Become a Friend

Become a Friend

Join us to receive the latest news and updates.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!