Book Reviews

Our book reviews are mostly written by our Oundle Crime book group. But we’re also happy to include reviews about general fiction or non-fiction titles. So why not write something for us about a book you’ve enjoyed? Email your review to join@friendsofoundlelibrary.org.uk

And just to let you know, if you buy books linked to our site, we may earn a commission from Bookshop.org, whose fees support independent bookshops.

Take a look below to see our latest reviews, and click through to a book review to find our Archive.

September 2021

Watch this space

Another book review will be posted here soon.

25 September 2021

The Pact by Sharon Bolton

A story of friendships tested beyond breaking point, which is so full of tension it’s hard to put down.

20 September 2021

The MaddAddam Trilogy by Margaret Atwood

If you enjoyed The Handmaid’s Tale on TV why not branch out and read this trilogy by Margaret Atwood? It’s a story that is, in turns, disturbing, fascinating, funny and frightening.

10 September 2021

The Old Enemy by Henry Porter

Book 3 in the Paul Samson series, this is an absolute cracker of a story! Beautifully written, with an intricate plot, it’s unputdownable. 5-Stars.

4 September 2021

The Whole Truth by Cara Hunter

An attractive student. An older professor. Think you know the story? Think again. This novel will turn all your preconceptions on their head.

30 August 2021

The German Heiress by Anika Scott

This debut novel is an intriguing and tense story, set in Germany in the immediate aftermath of World War 2. Atmospheric and meticulously researched. Well worth reading!

22 August 2021

A Song for the Dark Times by Ian Rankin

Another addition to Ian Rankin’s John Rebus series. Entertaining, interesting and welcomingly familiar, it’s also great fun to read.

16 August 2021

The Murderbot Diaries by Martha Wells

This series should be on your ‘must-read’ list, even if you don’t normally like sci-fi. It’s scary, yet light-hearted and brilliantly entertaining. Murderbot is a ‘hero’ unlike anything you’ve met before. We joke not!

9 August 2021

A Midsummer’s Equation by Keigo Higashino

In our post-Olympic haze, why not try this murder mystery, written by one of Asia’s most popular novelists? It’s full of charm and beguiling descriptions that will make you want to visit the land of the rising sun.

3 August 2021

Oundle Crime recommends

This month, Oundle Crime recommend six books, ranging from an out-and-out thriller set in 1941 Germany, and murder mysteries in Glasgow, Snowdonia, Iceland and Bologna, plus a not-quite-crime story set in the Cotswolds.

ADDRESS

Friends of Oundle Library

Glapthorn Road

Oundle

PE8 4JA

Become a Friend

Become a Friend

Join us to receive the latest news and updates.

Your message has been sent.

Become a Friend

Become a Friend

Join us to receive the latest news and updates.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!