Book Reviews

Our book reviews are mostly written by our Oundle Crime book group. But we’re also happy to include reviews about general fiction or non-fiction titles. So why not write something for us about a book you’ve enjoyed? Email your review to join@friendsofoundlelibrary.org.uk

And just to let you know, if you buy books linked to our site, we may earn a commission from Bookshop.org, whose fees support independent bookshops.

Take a look below to see our latest reviews, and click through to a book review to find our Archive.

16 June 2021

Fortune Favours the Dead by Stephen Spotswood

Set in 1940s New York, this debut novel by playwright and journalist, Stephen Spotswood is an entertaining and enjoyable whodunnit.

9 June 2021

Oundle Crime recommends

From a medieval mystery to a story set in 1950s small-town America, Oundle Crime report on six very different books that they enjoyed reading last month.

2 June 2021

The Institute by Stephen King

A shudderingly disturbing, yet absolutely riveting book from the master of horror and suspense.

26 May 2021

Post Mortem by Gary Bell

The second novel by Gary Bell in his Elliot Rook QC series. It’s pacey, exciting and fun. And it has a very unexpected ending. Well worth reading.

22 May 2021

A Prince and a Spy by Rory Clements

A wartime espionage thriller featuring Professor Tom Wilde. It’s Book 5 in the series and, like all the others, a rattling good read. Tension, trickery and treachery!

17 May 2021

Pandora’s Jar by Natalie Haynes

If you thought you knew the Greek myths and legends, think again! This examines these well-known stories from an entirely new perspective, and it’s totally compelling.

5 May 2021

Oundle Crime Recommends

Nine books recommended by the Oundle Crime book group in their latest blog. There’s a selection of suspense novels, mysteries, thrillers and cosy crime, set around the world from Australia and Canada, to the USA and UK.

26 April 2021

Trust by Chris Hammer

We love Chris Hammer’s novels and this is Book 3 in his Martin Scarsden series. It’s a story you won’t want to put down and it has a seriously unexpected ending.

23 April 2021

A Boy and his Dog at the End of the World by C.A. Fletcher

Described as ‘ferociously good’ this ranked as a ‘Top 5 Pick’ in Amazon’s Best Science Fiction and Fantasy list last year. It’s thought-provoking, intricate and exciting.

18 April 2021

Snap by Belinda Bauer

An astonishingly good story – tense, exciting, convoluted and very, very clever. An out-and-out 5-Stars!

ADDRESS

Friends of Oundle Library

Glapthorn Road

Oundle

PE8 4JA

Become a Friend

Become a Friend

Join us to receive the latest news and updates.

Your message has been sent.

Become a Friend

Become a Friend

Join us to receive the latest news and updates.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!