Book Reviews

Our website always features book reviews written by Oundle Library’s Crime Fiction Book Group. But we’re also happy to include reviews about general fiction or non-fiction titles. So why not write something for us about a book you’ve enjoyed? Send your review to us by email to join@friendsofoundlelibrary.org.uk.

Take a look below to see what we’ve been reading lately, and click through to a book review to find our Archive.

November 2020

Watch this space

Another book review will be posted here soon.

18 November 2020

Accidental Agent by Alan Judd

A spy story with believable characters and an intricate and clever plot. Immensely readable.

12 november 2020

The Man on the Street by Trevor Wood

This is a wonderful debut novel which gripped everyone in our book group. In fact, it earned nothing but 4+ and 5 Stars from all of us. Track it down!

7 November 2020

Takes One to Know One by Susan Isaacs

A witty, light-hearted mystery that turns suddenly into something far more sinister and terrifying. 4-Stars from our reviewer.

30 October 2020

What we read in October

8 books discussed and reviewed at our last book group meeting, with only one earning less than 4 Stars. They range from police procedurals to out-and-out thrillers, so see if something takes your fancy!

26 October 2020

Ski Spy School by Stuart Gibbs

Ben Ripley isn’t exactly spy material. But even though he’s a bit of a nerd, the CIA recruit him to go to spy school. And that’s where his adventures begin. The Spy School series is for children aged 8-11 and our reviewer gives this story 5-Stars.

23 October 2020

Killer Charm by Linda Fairstein

This essay on what makes a psychopath is straightforward and easy to follow, and it gives a rather different perspective to some of the killers and villains we find in many crime fiction novels.

18 October 2020

Rogue Male by Geoffrey Household

This is a riveting and exciting story that deserves its reputation as one of the best classic thrillers. 5-Stars from our reviewer.

13 October 2020

Whirligig by Andrew James Greig

A clever and intricate police procedural. This debut novel about a series of macabre killings in the Highlands of Scotland was longlisted for this year’s CWA John Creasey New Blood Award.

9 October 2020

The Order by Daniel Silva

The Gabriel Allon series by Daniel Silva usually yields page-turning international espionage thrillers. But this just slightly misses the mark. Having said that, don’t be put off reading the earlier books in the series because they are terrific.

ADDRESS

Friends of Oundle Library

Glapthorn Road

Oundle

PE8 4JA

Become a Friend

Become a Friend

Join us to receive the latest news and updates.

Your message has been sent.

Become a Friend

Become a Friend

Join us to receive the latest news and updates.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!