Book Reviews

Our book reviews are mostly written by our Oundle Crime book group. But we’re also happy to include reviews about general fiction or non-fiction titles. So why not write something for us about a book you’ve enjoyed? Email your review to join@friendsofoundlelibrary.org.uk

And just to let you know, if you buy books linked to our site, we may earn a commission from Bookshop.org, whose fees support independent bookshops.

Take a look below to see our latest reviews, and click through to a book review to find our Archive.

January 2021

Watch this space

Another book review will be posted here soon.

22 January 2021

All the Devils are Here by Louise Penny

A thoroughly absorbing and complicated mystery that marks Louise Penny’s return to top form. 4.5 Stars.

19 january 2021

The Savage Garden by Mark Mills

A beautiful Italian Renaissance garden with a mystery at its heart: two murders committed in it, separated by centuries. This is another intriguing mystery by award-winning author, Mark Mills

15 January 2021

The Last House Guest by Megan Miranda

A suspenseful mystery with lots of plot twists. It takes a while to get into but is well worth the effort. At times it’s like looking at a picture through smoke and mirrors…

9 January 2021

The Katharina Code by Jørn Lier Horst

Untangling the different strands of two different crimes reveals it was a house of cards just waiting to collapse. An absorbing mystery and very readable.

4 January 2021

How to Disappear by Gillian McAllister

Our first review of the new year and it earns 5 Stars! This is a brilliantly compelling story that’s almost unbearably tense. If you like psychological thrillers you have to read this.

22 December 2020

The Night Swim by Megan Goldin

Two storylines, set 25 years apart. And connected by what? This is a wonderfully twisty plot and a compelling read. A book we recommend.

19 December 2020

The Runner by Stephen Leather

A cracking thriller which features an entirely believable protagonist in junior MI5 agent, Sally Page. It may not be literature but who cares? It’s a real page-turner. 5-Stars.

15 December 2020

Life after Life by Kate Atkinson

Our reviewer first read this book when it was published in 2013. Recently she decided to read it again and says that was the “best decision of the month!” Even second-time round it earned 5-Stars.

9 December 2020

Launch Code by Michael Ridpath

From a nuclear near-miss in 1983, to a murder enquiry in Norfolk in 2019, this is a great tale that’s well told and very believable.

ADDRESS

Friends of Oundle Library

Glapthorn Road

Oundle

PE8 4JA

Become a Friend

Become a Friend

Join us to receive the latest news and updates.

Your message has been sent.

Become a Friend

Become a Friend

Join us to receive the latest news and updates.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!