Book Reviews

Our book reviews are mostly written by our Oundle Crime book group. But we’re also happy to include reviews about general fiction or non-fiction titles. So why not write something for us about a book you’ve enjoyed? Email your review to join@friendsofoundlelibrary.org.uk

And just to let you know, if you buy books linked to our site, we may earn a commission from Bookshop.org, whose fees support independent bookshops.

Take a look below to see our latest reviews, and click through to a book review to find our Archive.

21 January 2022

A Room Made of Leaves by Kate Grenville

A gripping historical novel that’s easy to read, and so well written that all the characters just leap off the page.

14 January 2022

The Heron’s Cry by Ann Cleeves

Book 2 in the new DI Matthew Venn series. We think the series will run and run. North Devon is a wonderful location and this is another knotty and thought-provoking plot.

9 January 2022

The Christmas Murder Game by Alexandra Benedict

An intriguing blend of storytelling and puzzles, this is a book to relish! The title makes it sound like a Cosy Crime mystery but it’s far from that. A gripping tale that’s great fun to read.

4 January 2022

A Beginner’s Guide to Murder by Rosalind Stopps

Three women (each with secrets to hide) rescue a young girl and decide to kill her abuser. It’s darkly funny with a bonkers plot. An entertaining way to kick off your reading for the new year!

18 December 2021

The Anniversary by Laura Marshall

“Eleven murders, twenty-five years ago. Are some truths better left buried?” is the premise behind this gripping and unusual thriller, which has a really big, unexpected twist at the end. 4+ Stars.

12 december 2021

Jim Kelly – local author

A local author who writes good, solid and enjoyable mysteries which are full of wonderful descriptions and local detail. Definitely worth searching out.

6 December 2021

Oundle Crime recommends

Ten books read and recommended by Oundle Crime. It might look a bit of a mixed bag but there are some great stories here to enjoy.

27 November 2021

The Evening and the Morning by Ken Follett

A prequel to the author’s insanely popular Pillars of the Earth series. This is set in Devon in the year 997 and the story rolls along at a tremendous pace…

22 November 2021

Sharpe’s Assassin by Bernard Cornwell

It’s been 31-years since Bernard Cornwell published Sharpe’s Waterloo. Now here’s the follow-up, which is a terrific tale! We hope it will introduce a new generation of readers to the Sharpe series.

15 November 2021

The Last Runaway by Tracy Chevalier

Set in 1850s America this is a vivid novel about the Underground Railroad – the clandestine network that helps runaway slaves escape to Canada. After reading this you’ll look at quilts with new eyes! 4+ Stars.

ADDRESS

Friends of Oundle Library

Glapthorn Road

Oundle

PE8 4JA

Become a Friend

Become a Friend

Join us to receive the latest news and updates.

Your message has been sent.

Become a Friend

Become a Friend

Join us to receive the latest news and updates.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!