Book Reviews

Our book reviews are mostly written by our Oundle Crime book group. But we’re also happy to include reviews about general fiction or non-fiction titles. So why not write something for us about a book you’ve enjoyed? Email your review to join@friendsofoundlelibrary.org.uk

And just to let you know, if you buy books linked to our site, we may earn a commission from Bookshop.org, whose fees support independent bookshops.

Take a look below to see our latest reviews, and click through to a book review to find our Archive.

11 April 2021

Ash Mountain by Helen Fitzgerald

A small Australian town beset by prejudice, violence and cover-ups, facing a devastating bushfire. This novel has been described as “uniquely Australian domestic noir…”

6 April 2021

What Oundle Crime read in March

At our last meeting we discussed 12 books that we’d enjoyed reading in March, so you may find something in our list that catches your eye!

29 March 2021

Troubled Blood by Robert Galbraith

Another terrific mystery in the Cormoran Strike series. At 923 pages long it’s a door stopper of a book but unputdownable!

26 March 2021

Long Range by C.J. Box

A page-turning thriller set in Wyoming, with game warden, Joe Pickett, searching for a sharp-shooting would-be-assassin of a local judge.

21 March 2021

The Night Agent by Matthew Quirk

A twisty, devious plot with moles, double-agents and assassins at every turn. 30 years ago this story would have seemed outlandish — not so much now!

18 March 2021

Wild by Cheryl Strayed

Part travelogue, part memoir, this is a fascinating book that’s immensely readable. No wonder it got made into a movie. It’s a great story.

8 March 2021

Trace Elements by Donna Leon

Another excellent mystery in Donna Leon’s Guido Brunetti series. It’s elegantly written and easy to read.

3 March 2021

What Oundle Crime read in February

Remember how cold it was last month? It meant Oundle Crime had more time to read! Here’s their selection of 9 books – from stories of murders in Cumbria, to drug running in Alaska.

27 February 2021

Dear Child by Romy Hausmann

A dark and gritty psychological thriller, which has a complicated and clever plot. Definitely worth looking out for, but it’s not for the faint-hearted.

23 February 2021

After the Fire by Jo Spain

A knotty plot with lots of characters and criminals, which deals with the serious issue of human trafficking. But it’s told with a light touch, so it’s immensely readable and earns 4+ Stars.

ADDRESS

Friends of Oundle Library

Glapthorn Road

Oundle

PE8 4JA

Become a Friend

Become a Friend

Join us to receive the latest news and updates.

Your message has been sent.

Become a Friend

Become a Friend

Join us to receive the latest news and updates.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!