Book Reviews

Our website always features book reviews written by Oundle Library’s Crime Fiction Book Group. But we’re also happy to include reviews about general fiction or non-fiction titles. So why not write something for us about a book you’ve enjoyed? Send your review to us by email to join@friendsofoundlelibrary.org.uk.

Take a look below to see what we’ve been reading lately, and click through to a book review to find our Archive.

October 2020

Watch this space

We’ll be posting another book review here soon.

18 October 2020

Rogue Male by Geoffrey Household

This is a riveting and exciting story that deserves its reputation as one of the best classic thrillers. 5-Stars from our reviewer.

13 October 2020

Whirligig by Andrew James Greig

A clever and intricate police procedural. This debut novel about a series of macabre killings in the Highlands of Scotland was longlisted for this year’s CWA John Creasey New Blood Award.

9 October 2020

The Order by Daniel Silva

The Gabriel Allon series by Daniel Silva usually yields page-turning international espionage thrillers. But this just slightly misses the mark. Having said that, don’t be put off reading the earlier books in the series because they are terrific.

6 October 2020

The Last One by Alexandra Oliva

A story around the making of a TV reality show, which turns into something else entirely. The tension just rolls off the page.

2 October 2020

Beezus and Ramona by Beverly Cleary

It might have been written in 1955 but this children’s classic (for ages 7-10) is still great fun to read and gets the thumbs up from our reviewer aged 9 …

29 September 2020

What we read in September

Our Crime Fiction Book Group discussed six books at their last Zoom meeting and only one of them earned less than 4-Stars. Take a look to see if something catches your eye.

24 September 2020

On Chapel Sands by Laura Cumming

Part mystery, part biography, this is the intriguing story of Laura Cumming’s mother. Published to great acclaim in 2019 it was immediately shortlisted for the Costa Biography Award …

21 september

Joyland by Stephen King

A crime fiction story from the master of Horror. But this is a terrific story which is beautifully written. Hunt it down!

18 September 2020

Hitler’s Secret by Rory Clements

A wonderful blend of fact and fiction that’s created a really tense wartime thriller. It’s book 4 in the Tom Wilde series. If you haven’t read any of these before, start now.

ADDRESS

Friends of Oundle Library

Glapthorn Road

Oundle

PE8 4JA

Become a Friend

Become a Friend

Join us to receive the latest news and updates.

Your message has been sent.

Become a Friend

Become a Friend

Join us to receive the latest news and updates.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!